The Monarchy


HRH Prince Paul is the reigning monarch and Head of State of the Principality of Paulovia. Alongside HRH Prince  Paul, HSH Princess Andriana-Georgia fulfil their official duties, offering guidance and leadership to the diverse peoples of the Paulovia Islands.

The Munro-Smith dynasty from which the current monarch is descended, was established in the eighteenth century. The Dynasty has flourished throughout Europe since the establishment of the Principality of Paulovia following the Teano Treaty of 1860 and consolidation by the Accord of Volturno in 1906.

The current royal family favour the Danish model of monarchy with pomp and circumstance of state being kept to a minimum. The luxurious days of the 1900s may have disappeared but the Paulovian Court maintains a dignity and presence worthy of its history and ancestors in the contemporary world.

The combined modern Royal Arms and State Arms, which replaced the original princedom's heraldic Royal Arms in 1998, displays historic references to the ancient castle of Volturno in Italy, the olive branch signifying Greek associations by marriage, and the wavy sea symbolising the islands of Paulovia, Cyprus, Greece, Italy and the British Isles. Descriptions of Paulovian Titles, Awards and Honours are detailed under Government.

Following royal promulgation of the amended Constitution in October 2010, the monarchy adopted a reclusive lifestyle more befitting a constitutional monarchy. The day to day running of the principality is now in the capable hands of the Great Panjandrum Council of Ministers and the democratically elected representatives of the Paulovia Islands National Assembly. Together they constitute the Paulovia National Government.

Additional royal powers will be transferred to the National Government and National Assembly over the coming decade under the National Powers Act 2012. Thereby fulfilling the personal wishes of HRH Prince Paul to modernise his country and improve the lives of all of his peoples.